The Mixed Media Card Challenge #18 – Celebration

Hi! Thank you for spending some of your time to visit me. 🙂 I’m very happy to be here today with two cards for The Mixed Media Card Challenge!

The Mixed Media Card Challenge

Here’s our December Challenge Graphic:

I had a lot of fun making the 2 cards in this post.

Slide25I started this card by doing a sketch/watercolor painting of some holly which I had picked from my yard. For the second card I also made a stencil! 🙂

IMG_0947edited

Card #1 – The original water color:

Slide16

IMG_0949edited

How I made this card:

  1. Sketched the holly with pencil on water-color paper. Slide12(Sorry I did not take a photo of the uncolored sketch.) Here’s a photo from a different holly sketch that I did. IMG_1071editedIf you are interested you can click on this photo to be taken to a post about the card I made with it. I like to do a rough tracing of leaves, flowers, branches etc. and then sketch in more details while looking at the plant.
  2. Water colored the sketch. I used these: 3. Traced the leaves and stem with a silver gel pen.
  3. Added Glossy Accents to berries and let dry.Slide13
  4. Applied VersaMark ink to edges of leaves with a marker.Slide15
  5. Heat embossed leaves with white EP.Slide5
  6. Stamped sentiment.
  7. Assembled panels onto card base.

    Slide17

I also scanned the painting into my computer and printed out several copies in order to be able to play with this image. I wanted to be able to render it in multiple different mixed media ways. I’d like to play this first card at Word Art Wednesday’s Challenge #211 : Anything Goes and Emerald Creek Dares: Bringing Bits of Cheer.Slide26

Card#2 – I used 1 of the printed images with a home made stenciled background:Slide22

I’d like to play this card at Christmas Card Throwdown’s: PICK A PREVIOUS 2015 CHALLENGE.

I chose  the August Color Challenge – Tradional Red & Green.

How I made Card #2:

  1. After scanning and saving it as a PDF, I printed out the image.
  2. I added paint, marker & Stickles to the holly.

Slide133. I fussy cut the image out. IMG_1310edited

4. Using the negative from the fussy cutting as a stencil, I sponged various green inks as well as silver ink onto the card base. IMG_1306editedIMG_1308editedIMG_1305edited

5. I traced some of the leaves in white gel pen. I also embellished the back side of this card. Slide23

6. The sentiment is heat embossed in white.

Slide24

 Do you embellish the insides or backs of your cards? I enjoy doing it very much! 🙂 I’d like to play this second card over at Virginia’s View Challenge #21: All About Glitter.

Slide12

Here are some of the works in progress. I also printed 2 of the images on VELLUM, which is the optional element for this month’s challenge. Please come back on Tuesday, December 8th to see 1 of the cards I made with the vellum.Slide18

Please check back at The Mixed Media Card Challenge Blog on the 8th, 15th and 22nd of December for some more cards that I’ve made with this image.

Thanks for stopping by!
XO, Grace & Peace
Melissa

Slide19 Do you like to draw?

Please stop by the challenge blog and checkout my teammates’ wonderful creations. I hope that you are inspired to play along!

Thanks for stopping by!
XO
Melissa

HOW TO PLAY
1. Create a mixed media CARD based on the theme, with or without the optional element.
2. Display the challenge graphic on your blog post and link back to this challenge post.
3. You may enter as many times as you want, as long as each entry is different.
4. You may combine a maximum of 7 challenges (6 other challenges plus ours).
5. Submit your projects by December 25, 11:55 p.m. Pacific (GMT-8).
6. We’ll announce the winner and highlights on December 31.

 

Places I’m Playing:

Grab our badge:

Emerald Creek Dares

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grab our button for your blog

30 thoughts on “The Mixed Media Card Challenge #18 – Celebration

  1. Pingback: Tracey McNeely’s 25 Days of Christmas Tags – Day 26 with STAMPlorations | honeybeelane

  2. Pingback: The Mixed Media Card Challenge #18 – Celebration – Reminder Post I | honeybeelane

  3. Pingback: Hello & Happy Birthday | honeybeelane

  4. Pingback: Happy Little Stampers Mixed Media Challenge #2 | honeybeelane

  5. Pingback: AAA Cards #54 Silent Night, Holy Night | honeybeelane

  6. AMAZING!!!! LOVE your hand-drawn holly Melissa … it is so beautiful. Love how you’ve watercoloured it and added embossing to the edges of the leaves and glossy accents to the berries. A real WOW card. Same with the second, just a great design and a beautiful card with lots of dimension and sparkle. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Happy Little Stampers December Sketch Challenge | honeybeelane

  8. Pingback: One slice? | honeybeelane

  9. Pingback: Sketching Holly | honeybeelane

  10. Beautiful work! Love the holly leaves and the white-embossed details! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View “All About Glitter” Challenge! I so appreciate your awesome support for this challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

COMMENTS Please leave your comments below. Thanks so much for your encouragement! I greatly appreciate your kind words. Proverbs 16:24 says "Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."

