A Plaid Leaf

Hi! I’m here with a card inspired by several fun Fall Challenges.

img_3679edited_edited-2

I created the plaid leaf by first sponging an ombre background (red to yellow from the stem to the leaf tip). Then I repeatedly masked off portions of the leaf and sponged on ink. I love using this technique.

img_3675edited_edited-2

I used a “Thankful” die from CUTplorations.

img_3690edited_edited-2

I sponged on a red band and attached the white panel to the orange cardstock.

img_3729_edited-1I attached the leaf and the die cut with foam tape.

img_3691edited_edited-2

I really like this card. A plaid leaf!? Sponging, ink blending, lots of red (my favorite color to use when making cards), ombre Autumn colors? I don’t normally make the same card twice, but I may have to repeat this one. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

Grace & Peace,

Melissa

Challenge #25 (Stripes & Plaid)

Grab our badge:Emerald Creek Dares

UPDATED Thursday, December 1, 2016: I so very happy to share that Virginia chose this card as one of her TOP 10 favorites at Virginia’s View Challenge #25. (Sadly, her last challenge.)

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “A Plaid Leaf

  1. WHOA!!! You created your own plaid?? MIND BLOWN HERE! That is such a gorgeous pattern and I loved the card the second I saw it. But then when I read that you’d turned into a Masterful Masking Maniac to create the plaid, I was even more impressed! What a gorgeous project with plenty of inspiration, I adore the subtle ombre, too. You’ve done a fantastic job here and I’m so glad you shared such loveliness with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

COMMENTS Please leave your comments below. Thanks so much for your encouragement! I greatly appreciate your kind words. Proverbs 16:24 says "Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.