CAS Lighthouse Birthday

Hi! I’m back today with another card just for fun! Yay!

This one is very different from my last 3 cards which were decidedly not CAS!

img_1814_edited-1When I saw CASology’s Cue Word I knew that I had to play along. I love the beach! img_1037_edited-1In fact, my family and I just returned from a vacation where I did a lot of beach combing.

img_0231edited_edited-2

(Some Fish n Chips suppers may have been consumed too!) Did you see my pre-vacation CASology Featured Designer post?

Here’s a peek at one of the “beachy” cards  shared over there:

IMG_6037edited

img_0225edited_edited-2Before card-making, came beach combing. It will always be among my hobby “first loves.” I love the “broken but beautiful” illustrations of sea glass.

img_1043_edited-1img_1051edited_edited-2Back to my card!

img_1817edited

The colors on this card (plus a couple more) and some of the design (all of the white and the sentiment) were inspired by Anita’s lovely card for Muse,

the theme was inspired by CASology’s “Beach” cue card

img_1825_edited-1and the layout was inspired by Freshly Made Sketches. img_1827edited_edited-1

Would you like a closer look at my beach combing collection from England and Scotland? I love the rainbow of colors that you can find on the shore. 🙂img_1062edited_edited-2img_1061edited_edited-2

You can click on the photo below to see a larger version.

img_1709edited4

img_1745edited_edited-2I’ve loved beach combing for as long as I can remember, but I’ve collected all of this particular bunch over the past 8 years. img_1739edited_edited-2Most of it is from my mother’s hometown on the West Coast of Scotland. img_1757edited_edited-2img_0726edited_edited-2img_1749edited_edited-2Some is from Seaham, England and some is from the Kent area (Isle of Thanet) of England. I found the box (shelf) in a local thrift store after returning from my family’s vacation this past August. The box is perfect for displaying most of my British beach collection. I love it!

Here’s one last look at my card.

img_1817edited_edited-2

I do have other collections of beach treasures from other parts of the world, but this box now contains the majority of my U.K. treasures. img_1755editedMaybe I’ll share more of my beach finds in another post. I several other collections, some have RED pieces, doll heads and variety of other exciting finds. For now,  I hope that you have enjoyed my rainbow of beach beauty.img_1056_edited-1Thanks for stopping by!

Grace & Peace,
Melissa

P.S. Speaking of rainbows….here are some of my recent bright and non-CAS cards! You can click on the photo to be taken to the individual posts. 🙂

img_1762edited

img_1776-copy

img_1796edited_edited-2

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “CAS Lighthouse Birthday

  1. I love how my card inspired you and took you in a completely different direction, fantastic dimension dimension and layout. And what a wonderful collection, and a great way to display your finds. I looks like you had a wonderful time over here in the UK and I was so pleased to finally meet you during your travels too!
    Thanks so much for playing along at Muse this week, Anita x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fantastic collection…and so beautifully organized! I’m sitting here in awe!
    Your card has such fabulous texture and dimension! What a great take on the cue!
    Thanks so much for joining us again over at CASology! : )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, what a stunning collection of shells, Melissa – so beautifully categorised by colour also! I love how you have depicted those rocky shores in the UK – so different from our white fine sands covering most of our beaches in Australia. I hope to one day explore some of these beautiful shores too. A beautifully textured CAS, but very thoughtfully composed card. So lovely that you joined us this week at CASology!

    Liked by 1 person

COMMENTS Please leave your comments below. Thanks so much for your encouragement! I greatly appreciate your kind words. Proverbs 16:24 says "Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.