Happy Little Stampers Watercolor Challenge – January 2017 – Stencil

Hello and Happy New Year! Welcome back to a brand new challenge! We are very excited about this challenge and are guessing that you will be too!

I’m very excited to be here with you for our inaugural HLS Watercolor Challenge.

All of our watercolor challenges will be Anything Goes with an optional twist. The only rule is that you use watercoloring or a watercolor technique on your entry. You may enter as many times as you like and you do NOT have to use HLS products to enter.

As always at Happy Little Stampers’ challenges……..we have a prize for you!

We would like to extend a huge welcome to our Guest Designer for this challenge!

Barb – Guest Designer

I have a team effort card, of sorts, to share with you today.

img_4022_edited-1

I made this card by sprinkling multiple colors of Brusho Crystal Color,

in rainbow order, on top of a stencil (the Herringbone stencil from TIM HOLTZ Mini Stencil Set #13 – Herringbone, Countdown, Blocks) placed on a panel of watercolor paper.

Then, I spritzed water on top of the stencil and the crystal colors, let it set for a few seconds, blotted with a paper towel roll and then removed the stencil. The results were very pleasing!

img_4019_edited-1Let me explain a bit about the team part. I learned about Brushos from Kylie last Summer at the HLS retreat where I made this rainbow panel.   I also CASEd Darnell’s technique and panel and borrowed the stencil I used from Kathy. Actually, Darnell also helped me to finish the panel as I was called away for some family business just as I was finishing it. Thanks, ladies!

img_4021_edited-1I added the sentiment using some stamps for STAMPlorations’ Sketchy Alphabet stamp set. First, I stamped the letters in black. Next, I colored them in with Derwent Inktense pencils and then softened the colors with a paintbrush and a bit of water.

img_4020_edited-1

Check out Kylie’s tutorial on the Brushos and stencil technique here.

img_4016_edited-1

My teammates and I are excited to begin this new year with a fun new monthly challenge and we sure do hope that you are going to enjoy joining in too!

Thanks for stopping by!

Grace & Peace,

melissa signature

FOLLOW ME ON BLOGLOVIN’

P.S. Here’s a fun video for your encouragement. Happy New Year!

Places I’m Playing my card:

Grab our badge:

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Happy Little Stampers Watercolor Challenge – January 2017 – Stencil

COMMENTS Please leave your comments below. Thanks so much for your encouragement! I greatly appreciate your kind words. Proverbs 16:24 says "Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.