MMCC October 2015 Challenge #16 – Black & Orange

I am very happy to be here today as a member of the MMCC Design Team.

This is my second post for today. If you are looking for my HLS Sketch challenge post please click on the photo below:

IMG_0415edited

Here’ the October Challenge Graphic:

I have to say that Orange is not one of my favorite colors, but I did get into it once I got started. I liked it enough to make 2 fairly different cards to share with you in this post. Maybe orange is growing on me?!

Here’s my first one:

IMG_8141edited

I did some ink-blending and cut the peony out with my PTI Peony Cover Plate Die. Then I cut out 2 more, one in black and one in the spotted vellum. For extra dimension I also partially cut 3 more peonies and added 2 or 3 extra layers to some different petals. I’m going to play this first card at DL. ART Thankful Thursday Challenge #165 THEME:  FALL, Virginia’s View #19: All Things Colored, SSS Monday’s Challenge- Ombre, SSS Wednesday’s Anything Goes and Word Art Wednesday’s Challenge #203: Anything Goes.

IMG_8113edited

IMG_8115edited

I made a second card and this time used the positive part of the orange ink-blended peony from the first one.  I’m going to play this second card at Uniko’s Challenge #25 AUTUMN / FALL with an optional twist of THANKS

IMG_8109editedI added some orange tinted embossing paste to the background. Have you ever made your own embossing paste? It’s easy! Baby Powder/talc & glue/Mod Podge & some acrylic paint and then a bit of water. Tint it however you like.

IMG_8067edited IMG_8062edited

IMG_8112edited

I also added a butterfly, stamped with Uniko’s English Country Garden – Butterflies stamp.

The vellum is from SU’s Sheer Perfection Designer Vellum Stack.

UPDATED SATURDAY OCTOBER 10. Please click on the photo below to go to my reminder post and see 3 more cards that I made for this challenge.

IMG_8086edited

So! I hope that I have inspired you to play along with this month’s challenge. Please stop over at the MMCC blog for some inspiration from the rest of the design team and to link up your entry! 🙂

HOW TO PLAY
1. Create a mixed media CARD based on the theme, with or without the optional element.
2. Display the challenge graphic on your blog post and link back to this challenge post.
3. You may enter as many times as you want, as long as each entry is different.
4. You may combine a maximum of 7 challenges (6 other challenges plus ours).
5. Submit your projects by October 25, 11:55 p.m. PDT (GMT-7).

Thanks for stopping by!
XO
Melissa

Places I’m Playing:

Card #1

DL.ART grab my button

Simon Monday Challenge BlogSimon Wednesday Challenge Blog

Grab our badge:

Card #2:

.

Supplies:

Papertrey Ink - Cover Plate: Peony Die

https://i0.wp.com/www.stampinup.com/images/EC/138639G.jpg

ECGbutterfliesPP

20 thoughts on “MMCC October 2015 Challenge #16 – Black & Orange

  1. Pingback: MMCC October 2015 Challenge #16 – Black & Orange – Reminder | honeybeelane

  2. Pingback: Hello Fall | honeybeelane

  3. Pingback: HLS October 2015 Sketch Challenge | honeybeelane

COMMENTS Please leave your comments below. Thanks so much for your encouragement! I greatly appreciate your kind words. Proverbs 16:24 says "Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.