9 squares

I’m back with a card for another challenge at PTI 9th Anniversary.

The-challenge

Create a new card that features nine 1-1/2″ squares, each altered in a different way. Mount them all onto a 5-1/2″ x 5-1/2″ square card base.

This one certainly was a challenge because I’m away from home with limited supplies. I won’t bore you with the more obvious details, but have included descriptions of the basic techniques that I used. Please see below.

My card:

IMG_4555edited

I’d like to play this at SSS Monday Challenge Blog’s Spritz & Spray at The Card Concept’s #48 Sweethearts as a Mixed Media Card and at Word Art Wednesday’s Challenge #219 : Anything Goes.

IMG_4557edited

#1 Painted on ❤ stamp w/ Windsor & Newton Rose Madder watercolor paint & stamped. Painted around ❤ w/ more of the same, added splatters.

#2 Stamped off Quinacridone Magenta acrylic (from #6), painted around ❤ w/ more of the same.

#3 Stamped w/ SU Real Red, water-colored w/ more of the same.

Slide1

#4 Resist Technique – Dotted on Tombow Mono Liquid Glue, allowed to dry, painted stamp with Zig marker, stamped, added Zig paint splatters

#5 Traced around stamp with Zig marker & water-colored with paint brush

IMG_4480edited

#5 after tracing w/ Zig, but before adding water

#6 Wax seal technique?IMG_4488edited_edited-1IMG_4549edited

I have not seen this done anywhere before. I added a blob of Quinacridone Magenta acrylic to the square of wc paper and squashed the stamp into it.

Slide1

#7 Smooshed background with Real Red, stamped with Titanium White Acrylic

#8 Painted ❤ stamp with Quinacridone Magenta, added splatters of the same

#9 Sponged on Real Red ink, stamped ❤ with water to remove some ink

IMG_4536edited

UPDATED THURSDAY FEB 18:

Laura chose my card as a winner for the Card Concept’s Sweet Hearts Challenge! Thanks so much, Laura and The Card Concept! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!
Grace & Peace,
Melissa

Places I’m Playing:

(Do splatters count for Spritz & Spray?)

Simon Monday Challenge Blog

Grab our badge:

Supplies:

Water color paper
White cs
Black cs
Foam Tape
Hero Arts Black Ink Pad
Tombow Mono Adhesive
PTI XOXO Stamps – Heart
PTI Fresh Flower Wrap ups – sentiment
Windsor & Newton – Rose Madder watercolor paint
Golden Heavy Body Acrylic- Quinacridone Magenta
Zig marker
SU Real Red Ink Pad
Ranger round mini ink blending tool
Tombow Liquid Glue
Golden Heavy Body Acrylic – Titanium White Acrylic
White Gel Pen
Red/Pink Gel Pen
Black Journaling Pen
Black Ball Point Pen

White One-Layer HB2U!

I’m here with a quick post for SSS Wednesday’s: Simon Says: One Layer and Less is More’s 5th Birthday Party: WHITE ON WHITE.

Here’s my card:

IMG_4524edited

I had a difficult time photographing this one!

IMG_4516edited

Thanks for stopping by!
Grace & peace,
Melissa

P.S. My family and I are away from home now, in the Oberammergau area. (Oberammergau is a municipality in the district of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, in Bavaria, Germany). Have you heard of Takeo Ischi? 🙂 A friend introduced me to his videos a couple of days ago. He makes me smile!

Enjoy!

Places I’d like to play:

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

We'd love you to display our banner

Grab & Craft

 Another challenge from PTI’s 9th Anniversary Celebration! This time the challenge was to create a new project that is created with supplies you grab and gather together in 5 minutes.

The-challenge

This one was pretty easy for me because I’m away from home and have a limited amount of my crafting supplies!

Here’s my card:

IMG_4512edited

I used this stamp set:

Two Toned Stamp Set

 and some ink!

Quite straight forward. Stamped black circles, added colored semi circles and sentiment. Sort of a non-traditional Valentine card, but I’m going to give this one to my almost-17-year-old son. 17!? 😦 He is turning into an incredible young man. (Oh and my eldest daughter turns 20 in March. ) Wow! That went fast!

I’d like to play this at CASology’s Week 184, SSS Wednesday’s Challenge: Simon Says: One Layer, Word Art Wednesday’s: Challenge #219: Anything Goes.

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

Grab our badge:

Thanks for stopping by!
Grace & Peace,
Melissa

P.S. My family and I are away from home now, in the Oberammergau area. (Oberammergau is a municipality in the district of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, in Bavaria, Germany). We had been hoping for lots of snow, but the ground was bare when we got here! Two nights ago God granted our pleas and sent some snow our way. My kids went sledding yesterday and had a BALL!

See the tiny snowman that one of my younger daughters made? 🙂

IMG_4474edited

P.P.S. Have you heard of Takeo Ischi? 🙂 He makes me smile!

Yours Truly

In honor of Betsy’s new Dress Up Dolls, Nicole and PTI  challenged us to create a new project that was inspired by a piece of clothing/outfit from your closet or online clothing retailer.

The-challenge

http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=135643684

 I love red and gingham! Here’s a dress that I would love to have for this upcoming summer.  I own a light blue gingham dress, but in a different style.

Here’s my card:IMG_4507edited

Quite straight forward. Covered cs with washi, die cut heart, attached panel to card, stamped sentiment and XOXOs.

My card was also inspired by several other cards.

This one, by Hannelie, which I have long admired:

My card also reminds me of Joyce’s for CASology’s #184:Valentine.

IMG_4510edited

I’d like to play this at CASology’s Week 184, Word Art Wednesday’s: Challenge #219: Anything Goes.

Grab our badge:

Thanks for stopping by!
Grace & Peace,
Melissa

P.S. My family and I are away from home now, in the Oberammergau area. (Oberammergau is a municipality in the district of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, in Bavaria, Germany). We had been hoping for lots of snow, but the ground was bare when we got here! Two nights ago God granted our pleas and sent some snow our way. My kids went sledding yesterday and had a BALL!

See the 2 tiny snowmen that my 2 youngest girls made?

IMG_4477edited

Here’s a closer up view. 🙂

IMG_4474edited