I See the Moon x2- One layer cards

Hi! I’m here with 2 one-layer cards inspired by CASology’s Week 163: Moon, Less is More’s Week 241: One Layer, Wishing, CAS(E) this Sketch #140 and SSS Monday’s Challenge: Love This Technique.

Simon Monday Challenge Blog

Here are my two cards using one of my favorites, the ink blending technique.

IMG_1620editedI used this photo as inspiration.

https://i0.wp.com/www.eso.org/public/archives/images/large/yb_at_moon_venus_cc.jpg

This first one was a trial run. I had printed the sentiment twice and it had overlapped slightly, giving a blurry effect. I thought I’d use it as experiment, but decided I quite like the result. I had a hard time photographing these cards. You can’t tell, but I made the crescent moon on this first card by sponging on Encore silver metallic ink.

IMG_1629editedMaybe the blurriness could be the result of tear-filled eyes? Longing for and wishing for someone? 😉

I decided to leave the second card with a full moon and made the sky a bit darker. I’m also going to play this second card at Word Art Wednesday’s Challenge #200 – Let’s Celebrate.

IMG_1633editedHere is the sentiment which in the inside of both of the cards. “Longing” and “wishing” are fairly equivalent, don’t you think?

IMG_1617editedI like both versions of this card. I think that I might end up changing the full moon into a crescent, but I haven’t made up my mind yet. What do you think?

IMG_1635editedHere’s a slideshow of some of process.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have you ever heard of Chris Rice? He’s one of my favorite singers and he’s a incredibly talented pianist as well. I particularly like both of his “Living Rooms Sessions” albums.  Anyhow, I digress! He sings a song entitled “I See the Moon” which I love. Here it is:

I See The Moon– Chris Rice

Can you see the moon tonight
Sugar-white perfection
Radiant beams of purest light
Our hearts’ connection
Carries me back to a lullaby
The sweetest song in my memory
Of Mama’s voice on moonlit nights
To hush her babies, singin’…

I see the moon, the moon sees me
The moon sees the one that I want to see
God bless the moon, and God bless me
And God bless the one I’m longing to see

Did you ever notice the man in the moon
He’s the master of reflection
Somehow he knows and imitates
My heart’s expressions
Some nights he’s melting in clouds of tears
Or shining my smile like the bright sun
But look, tonight the moon looks like
He’s missing someone

I see the moon, the moon sees me
The moon sees the one that I want to see
God bless the moon, and God bless me
And God bless the one I’m longing to see

Thanks for stopping by!
XO
Melissa

Places I’m Playing:

Grab our badge!CAS(E) this Sketch

 Simon Monday Challenge Blog

Grab our badge:

Edited Tue Sept 15: I am very happy to share that Melissa at CASology chose my card as an Honorable Mention for CASology’s Week #163!

P.S. Please make sure that you stop over at my blog post (goes live on 21st September at 6am AustralianEST) for Happy Little Stampers 1rst Release Blog Hop! We have prizes!!

Here’s a peek at one of my cards:

cropped hls 1rst release butterfly_edited-1Make sure to look for this photo at the end of my HLS Blog Hop Post for another chance to win the Butterfly Birthday stamp set, my favorite in this release, from me!!!

IMG_3670edited_edited-1Also make sure you visit all of the designers posts and leave a comment at each one for a chance to win all of the stamps in the first release!

33 thoughts on “I See the Moon x2- One layer cards

  1. The dark blue sky with the silver crescent moon has been captured so regally. It reminded me of a trip at night along the St Lawrence seaway with the silver light of the moon lighting the way and causing the water to sparkle even at 11pm. Thank you so much for taking time to post your very creative art with us this week at Word Art Wednesday in our 200th Celebration Week’ challenge!
    Blessings and Hugs, Carole

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Melissa, these are wonderful! I love the rich color and these are one layer!!! 😉 I’d forgotten about that song. Now I’m going to have to dig through my music and try to find it again!
    Thanks so much for joining us over at CASology again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

COMMENTS Please leave your comments below. Thanks so much for your encouragement! I greatly appreciate your kind words. Proverbs 16:24 says "Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."

