MMCC July 2015 Challenge #13 – Blue

I am so happy (and a little nervous) to be joining the MMCC Design Team beginning with this month’s blue themed challenge!

Isn’t this a cool theme?! I liked it so much that I made 3 fairly different cards to share with you in this post.

Here’s my first one:

IMG_5992editedMy card was inspired by the flowers and the blues of this month’s challenge image, along with the optional element:vase.  I had fun making this card with a free digital stamp which I won from Stamplorations. The sentiment is from Technique Tuesday’s “Carefree Cosmo” stamp set.

I love Cosmo Daisies; for as long as I can remember my mother has grown them every year, usually near her vegetable garden. Here’s one of my father’s paintings of my her Cosmos. Wow, this painting makes me homesick for my parents and Maine!

IMG_6075editedhttps://i2.wp.com/www.maineartinspired.com/2011images/Cosmos.jpg

Sigh…….quick, let’s move on!

To start this card, I used some dish-soap bubbles, tinted with re-inkers, to create some different watercolor background papers. I chose one of these papers to use as the background panel for each of the cards in this post.

IMG_4843edited_edited-1

Click on this photo for more information about how I made these papers.

IMG_6114editedAfter choosing a bg panel, I printed the digital stamp image multiple times on both water-color paper and heavy white card stock. For this watering can card I used the images printed on the water-color paper. You can see that I cropped one set of the images as to use only the flowers. I heat embossed and colored the can. I then fussy cut one extra set of flowers and water-colored all of those.

IMG_7169

I layered the extra flowers, in 3 separate layers, to added some dimension.

Then I popped up and attached the can with some foam tape.

IMG_6080editedMy next two cards are similar to the challenge image. Another piece of that bg paper, lots of stamping, a little masking & some heat embossing went into this next card.

  IMG_6365edited

I learned something new when I was making this next card. Did you know that there are such things as blue poppies? I didn’t!

https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/182/438264738_8635458156_z.jpg%3Fzz%3D1

Ohhhh! So pretty! I found this new info particularly exciting because I’m always looking for blue flowers to go in my garden. I love having Red, White & Blue flowers growing combination. 🙂

IMG_6359edited

Yet another piece of that bubble bg paper, the SU! Pleasant Poppies bg stamp, some coloring, a silver gel pen and some Glossy Accents for “dew” went into the making of this last one. I’m going to play this blue poppy card over at VV #16: %100 Stamped.

IMG_7163edited

Thanks for stopping by for my premiere as a Design Team Member at the MMCC!

IMG_5996editedIMG_6373edited IMG_6358edited

So! I hope that I have inspired you to play along with this month’s challenge. Please stop over to the blog for some inspiration from the rest of the design team and to link up your entry.

HOW TO PLAY
1. Create a mixed media CARD based on the theme, with or without the optional element.
2. Display the challenge graphic on your blog post and link back to this challenge post.
3. You may enter as many times as you want, as long as each entry is different.
4. You may combine a maximum of 7 challenges (6 other challenges plus ours).
5. Submit your projects by July 25, 11:55 p.m. PDT (GMT-7).

Thanks for stopping by!
XO
Melissa

Places I’m Playing:

17 thoughts on “MMCC July 2015 Challenge #13 – Blue

  1. Pingback: MMCC July Challenge #13 – Reminder | honeybeelane

COMMENTS Please leave your comments below. Thanks so much for your encouragement! I greatly appreciate your kind words. Proverbs 16:24 says "Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."

