You are My Sunshine

I have a preface to share with you before getting to my card in this post.

CAS = Clean and Simple.I have been pondering this design style a lot over the past year or so. Honestly, I see quite range in the spectrum of CAS cards.Every time I think about this disparity I can’t help but I think of the following conversation from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

Mr. Darcy: Tell me, do you and your sisters very often walk to Meryton?
Elizabeth Bennet: Yes, we often walk to Meryton. It’s a great opportunity to meet new people. In fact, when you met us, we’d just had the pleasure of forming a new acquaintance.
Mr. Darcy: Mr Wickham’s blessed with such happy manners, as may ensure his making friends. Whether he is capable of retaining them, is less certain.
Elizabeth Bennet: He’s been so unfortunate as to lose your friendship. I dare say that is an irreversible event.
Mr. Darcy: It is. Why do you ask such a question?
Elizabeth Bennet: To make out your character.
Mr. Darcy: What have you discovered?
Elizabeth Bennet: Very little. I hear such different accounts of you as puzzle me exceedingly.
Mr. Darcy: I hope to afford you more clarity in the future.

πŸ˜‰

Is this merely newbie confusion on my part? Or are there a wide variety of opinions on the definition of what is truly CAS? Is there more clarity to be had? Or does it come down to shades of grey and matters of taste and opinion?

Having shared all of that, I’m happy to share this cheerful (CAS-ish?) card with you today.

IMG_4980editedFor this card I did some ink blending, made my own stencil, used some patterned paper (which I bought in a shop in my mother’s hometown, Dunoon, Scotland) and used home made embossing paste. FUSION’s: French Twist and Casology’s: Music were the beginning of the inspiration for this card. I am very happy with the results and I am also going to play this second card over at Mixed Media’s Challenge # 11: Wings.

IMG_4987edited

I am going to play this card over at Virginia’s View Challenge #14: Layers and Dimension

and at CAS(E) this sketch! #123 and ATCAS Challenge #63 + DT CALL too.

IMG_4991editedI have posted a more CAS-ish version of this card here and completely different one here.

Thanks for stopping by!
XO
Melissa

Places I’m Playing:

April/May Challenge: Layers and DimensionsΒ  CAS(E) this Sketch

P.S. I listened to this song today and it reminded me of card-making, creativity and how God is the Master Artist. I hope you’ll listen and enjoy!
13 thoughts on “You are My Sunshine

  1. Pingback: You are My Sunshine, 3 | honeybeelane

  2. Melissa, I see a wide variety of interpretations of CAS also. I personally love to make super-CAS cards, but every now and then I make a card with a little “more” and still call it CAS. So long as there isn’t too much clutter, I’ll call it CAS. πŸ˜‰ Your CAS-ish card is CAS enough for me, it’s beautiful! Thanks for joining us at CAS(E) This Sketch!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a very pretty card, and CAS-enough in my book! Loved your quotes from my most favorite and most often-read book. I do think that there are various degrees and definitions of CAS out there, and also different challenges expect different things, even if they call themselves CAS. I say, just make what you love! Thanks so much for playing along at CASology. We certainly appreciate your loyalty and all of your beautiful entries.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: You are My Sunshine, Circle | honeybeelane

COMMENTS Please leave your comments below. Thanks so much for your encouragement! I greatly appreciate your kind words. Proverbs 16:24 says "Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."

